fbpx
Community von Leisetretern als Unternehmer
Building a community – Part1: The exctraordinary beginning
20. January 2019
Vortragsengagement Traction
Speaking Engagements
27. January 2019
Show all

Charity Marketing – Interview with Ulinka Wagner

Charity Marketing
 
Once I happened to deliver a speech at Innovationscafé by Strascheg Center for Entrepreneurship in Munich with the topic being "The path to Traction – Why flip flops are the wrong shoes for conquering Mount Everest". After my presentation I was spontaneously approached by Ulinka Wagner who shared with me that while she was listening to me a couple more marketing tools occurred to her. There are always more opportunities but what flashed across her mind proved to be the most relevant. Thereupon we got together to discuss her experience with charity and crowdfunding in terms of marketing actions. You can find the first part of our conversation below, while the second part you can find under the heading Crowdfunding as Marketing Tool here.

Marketing via Charity

Ulinka, what is your connect with charity in terms of marketing?

First, what concerns charity: As I was engaged in the editorial work in the publishing house I started to increasingly realize that whatever topic emerged on my colleagues’ desks they had better chances to be published if they had some relation to charitable activities. How about a small promising but so far unknown jeans label, which, despite the tight budget, advocate for fair working conditions and durable materials? Standing up against the big corporations perceived as indecent exploiters, who have their mass production secured by workers who do their job in shameful conditions and are paid minimum wage? This is the perfect picture for storytelling of a brand. The most suitable name for this one would be Goodsociety!
Here is their big mission: good versus evil, David versus Goliath. Because who is going to buy more expensive jeans, just because they have up to a couple more colored seams, a darker wash, with a couple holes more or other embroider, the jeans that on the whole are hard to distinguish from any other average pair of jeans? Without a plausible story behind this label the product would not do a good job. Such a heroic story allows a company to charge their product or service with emotion and sense of purpose, and can elaborate a connection to their customer. Big companies can also use such a strategy: they come up with a capsule collection that has been manufactured in ecologically clean conditions from recycled materials. (A good example would be Conscious Collection by H&M or Collection from RE:CYCLE by Victor & Rolf for Zalando.).

What experiences and lessons learned could you gather in this field?

I believe, it functions if, naturally, a product or a service is nice. It works as leverage for marketing. The story behind the company or brand as well as the vendor themselves have to be authentic and consistent.
According to a survey by Economist roughly 79% of millennials buy something from the companies that assume social responsibility. And companies should not exaggerate with this image not just conjuring up some good cause which doesn’t even exist. Customers will feel it, even subconsciously they will distinguish a fake. It will consequently bring the brand image into disrepute. The worst case scenario it will be ridiculed.

In your opinion, at what stage of the marketing funnel the topic of charity makes sense?

I believe, tight in the beginning, a good mission and a sense of purpose are supposed to be imbedded in the product one is marketing, so they can be as well communicated to the target audience from the very beginning. It can or should be subtle. The bad example would be a popular Balenciaga collection which featured a rather conspicuous slogan like "World Food Program", but in reality only 10% of the revenue is directed to the organization.

Can we recognize charity as the marketing instrument that targets branding of a company/product/service or new clients?

I believe such marketing measures can be applicable rather in terms of branding and the identity of a brand.

What about sustainability of charity in marketing?

What can produce a more long-term effect on a consumer than your product’s true connection to something good and important, to a story of a good cause, especially if it is meant to be so, if it is not only for publicity, when you really care? At the end of the day every good act returns to us, and it really can produce a way higher turnover.

Dear Ulinka, I am so glad we could make this first part of our interview.
 

Ulinka Wagner

Ulinka Wagner is a content & communication specialist who renders her professional services to huge established multinational corporates as well as small trendy startups. She studied fashion design and business management, and for quite a long time she has been a part of a team in a serious publishing house. As a freelancer she managed to thrive in her enthusiasm contributing to various new journalistic projects and formats. The growing trend to increasingly sustainable fashion and lifestyle products encourages her to hope that consumers in the future can learn to make right purchasing decisions.
 

You want more Impulses to Charity Marketing?


Get Call to Traction into your Mailbox

This means regularly fresh infos, studies and trends about Customer Centricity, Marketing and Sales.
André Wehr
André Wehr
As a founder and entrepreneur, I experience every day how important Traction and Customer Centricity is. It makes the difference between a nice idea and a viable business.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

//]]>

fbpx
Wie die Blockchain die Marketingwelt verändern kann – Call to Traction
7. März 2018
Crowdfunding Marketing – Interview mit Ulinka Wagner
14. März 2018
Zeige alle

Charity Marketing – Interview mit Ulinka Wagner

 
Nach meinem Vortrag im Innovationscafé des Strascheg Center for Entrepreneurship zu "Der Weg zu Traction – Warum Flipflops die falschen Schuhe für den Mount Everest sind" kam Ulinka Wagner spontan auf mich zu, dass ihr noch ein paar mehr Marketing-Tools eingefallen waren. Sicher gibt es immer noch mehr Möglichkeiten, aber diese erschienen ihr gerade relevant. Daraufhin trafen wir uns und sprachen über ihre Erfahrungen mit Charity bzw. Wohltätigkeit wie auch Crowdfunding als Marketing Aktionen. Den ersten Teil kannst Du hier als Interview lesen. Den zweiten Teil kannst Du zu Crowdfunding als Marketing Werkzeug findest Du hier.

Marketing durch Charity

Ulinka, was ist Dein Bezug zum Thema Charity im Marketing-Zusammenhang?

Zunächst zum Thema Charity: Bei meiner redaktionellen Arbeit im Verlag ist mir immer mehr bewusst geworden, dass Themen viel eher eine Chance auf Veröffentlichung hatten, wenn sie zusätzlich einen Charity-Bezug haben. Ein kleines, hoffnungsvolles aber noch unbekanntes Jeanslabel, das sich trotz knappem Budget für faire Arbeitsbedingungen und nachhaltige Materialien einsetzt? Gegen die Großen, die unanständigen Ausbeuter, die ihre Massenfabrikation unter unwürdigen Bedingungen ausführen lassen und Mindest-Löhne zahlen? Das ist perfektes Futter für das Storytelling einer Marke. Am besten man nennt die Jeans gleich Goodsociety!
Es gibt ihr eine große Mission: Gut gegen Böse, David gegen Goliath. Denn wer soll eine um vieles teurere Jeans kaufen, die sich bis auf ein zwei anders eingefärbte Nähte, eine dunklere Waschung, ein zwei Löcher mehr oder andere Stickereien meist wenig von einer herkömmlichen Jeans unterscheidet ? Ohne eine plausible Geschichte rund um das Label funktioniert das nicht. Mit solch einer Helden-Geschichte lädt man Produkte oder Dienstleistungen emotional auf und kann eine Bindung zum Kunden erzeugen. Das nutzen auch große Firmen: Sie bringen wenigstens eine Capsule-Kollektion heraus, die unter ökologischen Bedingungen hergestellt wurde, aus recycelten Materialien besteht. (Beispielsweise die Conscious Collection von H&M oder die Kollektion aus RE:CYCLE von Victor & Rolf für Zalando.).

Welche Erfahrungen und Lessons learned konntest Du dabei sammeln?

Es funktioniert, wie ich finde, wenn natürlich das Produkt oder der Service sonst auch ok. Ist. Es wirkt wie ein Hebel fürs Marketing. Die Geschichte und die Anbieter müssen aber stimmig und authentisch sein.
Nach einer Studie des Economist kaufen 79 Prozent der Millenials lieber bei Unternehmen, die gesellschaftliche Verantwortung übernehmen. Und : Unternehmen sollten es es nicht übertreiben und irgendwo eine gute Mission herbeizaubern, die gar nicht vorhanden ist. Der Kunde wird spüren, wenn etwas nicht stimmt, auch wenn das unterbewusst ist. Es entsteht ein schiefes Markenbild. Schlimmstenfalls entsteht der Eindruck der Lächerlichkeit.

Zu welchem Zeitpunkt im Marketing Funnel macht das Thema Charity denn Deiner Ansicht nach Sinn?

Ich denke, gleich am Anfang, eine gute Mission und eine Sinnhaftigkeit sind mit dem Produkt verhaftet und können von Anfang an kommuniziert werden. Das kann oder sollte subtil sein. Auch wenn auf der aktuellen Balenciaga Kollektion unübersehbar Slogans wie "World Food Programme" stehen und tatsächlich zehn Prozent der Erlöse an diese Organisation gehen.

Kann man dabei erkennen, Charity als Instrument des Marketings eher auf das Branding des Unternehmens/Produkts/Services abzielen oder auf Neukunden?

Ich sehe solche Maßnahmen eher beim Branding, bei der Identität der Marke.

Wie sieht es mit der Nachhaltigkeit der Aktionen aus?

Sein Produkt mit einer guten Tat zu verknüpfen, was könnte nachhaltiger sein, wenn es ernst wirklich ernst gemeint ist? Schließlich kommt ja alles Gute wieder zurück und das kann ja auch ein höherer Umsatz sein.

Liebe Ulinka, vielen Dank für den ersten Teil dieses tolle Interview.
 

Ulinka Wagner

Ulinka Wagner ist Content & Communication Spezialistin und arbeitet für große, alt eingesessene Unternehmen bis kleine, trendige Start-ups. Sie hat Modedesign und Betriebswirtschaft studiert und war ziemlich lange sehr fest eingebunden bei einem großen Verlag. Erst als Freelancerin konnte und kann sie sich voller Enthusiasmus bei verschiedenen neuen journalistischen Projekten und Formaten austoben. Der anwachsende Trend zu immer mehr nachhaltigen Mode- und Lifestyleprodukten macht ihr Hoffnung, dass der Konsument mit richtigen Kaufentscheidungen doch etwas bewirken könnte.
 

Mehr Impulse zu Charity Marketing gewünscht?


Hol Dir Call to Traction ins Postfach.

Das bedeutet regelmäßig frische Infos, Studies und Trends rund um Customer Centricity, Marketing und Sales.
André Wehr
André Wehr
Als Gründer und Unternehmer erlebe ich täglich, wie wichtig Traction und Kundenfokus ist. Dies macht den Unterschied zwischen einer ganz netten Idee und einem lebensfähigen Unternehmen.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

//]]>