fbpx
Call to Traction Customer Journey Tracking
Customer journey tracking: setup, data
21. February 2019
Crowdfunding Marketing
Crowd funding for Marketing – Interview with Ulinka Wagner
5. March 2019
Show all
Content Marketing Traction

What is Content Marketing and why do you need it?

Quite often I read various blog articles about the importance of content marketing. What is emphasized above all is the importance of connecting the strings of content to form a so-called story, — not just plain boring sales text.
And I got curious, what this content marketing is all about, and whether it deals with the written text only. I started asking myself how it actually works.
Some time ago, at the beginning of the internet sales era, content marketing was mocked as hype in the marketing universe. Yet, there is so much more than just another short-term rescue operation for an online business. Content marketing can actually be best described as the core of a successful digital transformation. Only with the right content is continuous customer journey, along with a long-term customer relationship and cross-channel action.

Content Marketing is all about this

Content Marketing is anything but a new trick in marketing. If we take a look in the past, we can find multiple examples of it. For instance, already in 1985 John Deere and his rural lifestyle and agriculture brainchild "The Furrow", a brand magazine born generations before the term “content marketing” was coined, informed his customers on trends and methods readers could use in their farming routine.
We can‘t help recalling Dr. Oetker, of course, whom it didn’t take long to understand that packaged baking powder and similar bakery produce was much faster off the shelves and in the housewives’ baskets when those small packages also contained a couple of recipe-messages for delicious pies and cakes.
When we speak about content marketing we have to realize that there is so much more to it than just presenting your product in the best light and then keep pushing and launching obtrusive advertisement, thus imposing our products to the potential buyers. It is way more important to generate an informative and value-enhancing portfolio which would provide the best assistance to a potential client with some events and occurrences, with some specific need or with resolving some problems. You can be really creative in the way you render your valuable assistance and guidance to your consumers by going forward with text, graphic, audio and video formats of your content.

Content Marketing facts and figures

4 mistakes to avoid in Content Marketing

You allow direct and obvious sales pitches in your content

It is clear that you create and place your content to attract more potential buyers that would drive and enhance conversions. BUT: when sales pitch prevails in your content, it actually stops being really useful to potential users. Instead, consumers would most likely keep searching for something less obtrusively pushing, and they will definitely find it and buy from your competitors.

Purely hypothetical customer personality

Surely, you have heard about the importance of distinguishing between the buyer personality types, customer personas or something similar. Some people see it like this: "Company founder in the automobile industry, aged 28 – 35, lives in Chicago, single, no children. Struggles with sales." If this is how you imagine your customer persona, you have to open your eyes wider for you most likely do not know your customer at all.
You have to dig deeper and understand the challenges and motivation factors in your customer's life, which will allow you to create content that these people will actually love to read. More on how you can enrich your customer persona with quality information you can find in our article What customers want.

Published content = Content Marketing

You have carried out awesome research; you have interviewed many of your customers, and have more or less outlined what they might want to see from you. Subsequently, you have generated cool content, some infographics or a small video. Then you upload this piece on your YouTube channel or your website …. And that’s it.
Nope.
Publishing your content or uploading its audio/video piece is only a half work done. A proper placement, the so-called "seeding" of your content in places/media/networks where your potential customers mostly consume information is what you have to give your utmost priority to. Here we strongly recommend the rule of 20/80: 20% of the time is for content preparation, 80% of the time is for placement.

You do not understand the funnel

When you create your audio, video, or infographics or text material you have to be aware of a specific place it finds its application in the marketing funnel. It is all about the attention at the outset, along with building an understanding that accompanies the content even deeper down the sales funnel until the actual purchase happens.

Content Marketing placement in terms of marketing

Content Marketing im gesamten Marketing Funnel

When we look at the whole marketing funnel, we can see that all the activities associated with content marketing are placed between the top of the funnel and the middle area. Content can be placed also at the bottom of the funnel, which is associated with after sale support, to prevent the customer journey sudden break-off.
In this context, the emphasis is laid on the measures that are designed to, first of all, draw the potential customer's attention to solutions that your company offers encouraging them to learn more about you and your company.

Immediate impact vs long-term effect

Content Marketing requires time and, unlike sales, does not generate the immediate buying impulse.

The effect is expected to increase at the account if its influence on other channels, such as SEO as long as your tools really managed to catch attention.

Categorization in Channel-Portfolio

When you are setting up your Portfolio with channels and your array of activities, you can see that the measures associated with content marketing, as a rule, perform a function of so-called nets for your customers.

This channel produces its best result when complemented by spears aimed with precision and deeply planted seeds.

4 often underrated tips and hacks you need to know when dealing with Content Marketing

Always answer the questions from your target group

How often do you research what your target group actually type in their search engines (Google, most likely), in a particular situation in relation to your business? What kind of information interests them the most? What kind of events happen in professional or private lives of your potential customers what kind of needs is revealed, what solution do your customer seek before coming across your offer? Outline these questions for yourself and try to answer them with your content.

Recycle your contents

To produce brand new content every day is mission near to impossible since it would mean a tremendous time and finance-consuming task. It doesn’t have to, though. However, it is very well worth regularly and critically reviewing the already existing content and checking whether there is something in need to be actualized and whether something new should be introduced to keep your target group interested, something fresh for the seeking eyes of the potential clients browsing through your pages.

Slim down and optimize the content creation process

Running an editing calendar is one of the good ways to streamline your content generation. Plan your content-related calendar regularly and in advance, for instance, quarterly or biannually. It makes sense to use the equally sized time-periods to continually scrutinize and review your content, to locate bottlenecks and eliminate them.

Measure your progress

Measuring your content strategy progress and performance actually indicates the success rate of the content you created and placed. If your content is web-based, then analytics would serve as the backbone of your tracking possibilities, and you should not overlook it. Make sure to regularly check the relevant indicators or your KPI, to skillfully enhance or adjust your strategy.

Content Marketing comes down to these KPI

Monthly Page Views

This indicator measures the number of views on a chosen page of your website, for instance, the page with your engineering as marketing tools. So, your visitor first goes to the home page, then to „about us“ page, and, finally, he sees your content element, so it is calculated as 3 page views, but it’s still one session.

Average time on site

The average stay figure gives you an idea of how long a visitor to your website stays, for instance, on the page with your strategically placed content showing to what extent the content or ads actually interest the visitor.

Bounce Rate

The bounce rate can give you a share in percentage how many visitors leave your website without interacting with any further pages.

Number of recurring users

The number of returning visitors gives information on how relevant your content seems to be to the visitors, and whether your content actually meets their expectations.

Get going

Content generation and placement, often forgotten seeding bring about the promising performance when it answers the questions of your target group browsing your pages because they do not want to see the pure selling text. Content marketing is found virtually along h entire marketing funnel way and in the very beginning it attracts the attention of the potential buyers/users, then it is bound to build understanding so that later the relationship between your target audience and your company could lead to actual purchases and beyond that.
If you manage to integrate all of your content elements into a consistent, wholesome and comprehensive story you lay the foundation for the network which will keep your customers interested in your company product or service, keep them returning to you.

And now: Find out what questions you should answer with your content and test various media for this because there don’t have to be always only blog articles in your content.

You want more Impulses to Content Marketing?

shadow-ornament

Get Call to Traction into your Mailbox

This means regularly fresh infos, studies and trends about Customer Centricity, Marketing and Sales.

André Wehr
André Wehr
As a founder and entrepreneur, I experience every day how important Traction and Customer Centricity is. It makes the difference between a nice idea and a viable business.

Comments are closed.

Call to Traction Kunden-zentriertes Marketing
Wie Du ein Kunden-orientiertes Marketing Mindset implementierst – Call to Traction
13. Dezember 2017
Search Engine Advertising Traction
Search Engine Advertising
27. Dezember 2017

Was ist Content Marketing und warum brauche ich es?

Regelmäßig lese ich etwas über Content Marketing und dass es so wichtig sein soll. Vor allem soll so eine Geschichte erzählt werden, und nicht rein ein Verkaufstext langweilig heruntergeschrieben sein.
Ich möchte wissen, was dieses Content Marketing eigentlich ist, ob es sich dabei nur um schriftliche Inhalte handelt. Warum benötige ich Content und Content Marketing und wie funktioniert das eigentlich?
Content Marketing wurde anfänglich als der nächste Hype im Marketing Universum verspottet. Dabei ist es sehr viel mehr als eine kurzfristige Rettungsaktion. Vielmehr kann Content Marketing als das Kernstück einer glückenden digitalen Transformation beschrieben werden. Mit den richtigen Inhalten sind eine durchgängige Customer Journey, ein langfristiges Binden und das kanalübergreifende Ausspielen erst möglich.

Darum geht es bei Content Marketing

Content Marketing ist keineswegs eine neue Disziplin im Marketing. Wenn wir uns ein wenig in der Vergangenheit umblicken, dann sehen wir Beispiele wie die von John Deere, die mit ihrem Kundenmagazin "The Furrow" bereits seit 1895 ihre Kunden über Trends und Methoden informierten, wie sie besser (land-)wirtschaften konnten.
Auch Dr. Oetker hat früh verstanden, dass sich die kleinen Päckchen mit Backpulver und ähnlichem wesentlich besser verkaufen, wenn das Päckchen direkt als Botschaft für Rezepte und Inhalte dient.
Beim Marketing mit Inhalten geht es primär eben gerade nicht darum, die eigenen Produkte in das rechte Licht zu rücken und aufdringlich und werbend auf den Kunden "einzuhämmern". Vielmehr ist es wichtig, ein informationshaltiges und wertschaffendes Portfolio an Inhalten zu gestalten, das den potenziellen Kunden entweder bei einem Ereignis, bei einem konkreten Bedarf oder auch auf der Suche nach einer Lösung unter die Arme greift. Dabei können diese Inhalte in schriftlicher, grafischer, Audio, Video oder sonstiger Form vorliegen.

Zahlen, Daten und Fakten zu Content Marketing

4 Fehler, die Du bei Content Marketing vermeiden solltest

Direkte und offensichtliche Sales Pitches im Inhalt

Es ist verständlich, dass Du Inhalte erschaffen möchtest, die auch die eigentlichen Conversions antreiben. ABER: Wenn Dein Sales Pitch den Inhalt dominiert, dann lenkt er Deine potenziellen Kunden von der Nützlichkeit ab. Sie werden stattdessen nützlicheren Inhalt, der weniger mit Werbung durchsetzt ist, an einer anderen Stelle suchen und finden.

Rein hypothetische Kunden Personas

"Unternehmensgründer in der Automobilindustrie. 28 - 35 Jahre alt. Lebt in München, nicht verheiratet und ohne Kinder. Kämpft mit seiner Vermarktung." Sicherlich hast Du schon von der Wichtigkeit von Buyer Personas, Kundenpersonas oder ähnlichem gehört. Falls aber das Beispiel hier ähnlich zu Deiner Vorstellung einer Persona ist, dann kennst Du deine Kunden wahrscheinlich überhaupt nicht.
Dazu erfordert es, sehr viel tiefer zu gehen, und die Herausforderungen und Motivationen im Leben eines Kunden zu verstehen, um auch Inhalte zu kreieren, die dieser dann auch sehen möchte. Wie Du Deine Kundenpersona mit viel mehr Informationen anreichern kannst, findest Du in unserem Artikel zu Was Kunden wollen.

Veröffentlichter Content = Content Marketing

Du hast eine super Recherche betrieben, Deine Kunden interviewt und verstehst mittlerweile sehr gut, was sie von Dir sehen wollen. Anschließend hast Du einen tollen Inhalt produziert, beispielsweise ein kleines Video oder eine Infografik. Dann ist das Content-Stück auf Deinem Youtube-Kanal oder Deiner Website veröffentlicht worden und .... das war's.
NEIN. Mit dem reinen Veröffentlichen ist erst die Hälfte der Arbeit getan. Das Platzieren, das sogenannte "Seeding" der Inhalte an die Orte und in die Medien, die Deine potenziellen Kunden konsumieren, ist der fast noch wichtigere Schritt. Wir empfehlen Dir hierbei eine 20/80 Regel: 20% der Zeit für das Erstellen, 80% der Zeit für das Platzieren.

Du verstehst Den Funnel nicht

Wenn Du Inhalte, ob grafisch, per Video, Audio oder auch textuell, erstellst, dann solltest Du dir im Klaren sein, an welcher Stelle dieser in Deinem Marketing Funnel Anwendung findet. Geht es um die Aufmerksamkeit zu Beginn, das Verständnis für die Wichtigkeit, oder begleitet der Content noch viel tiefer im Verkaufstrichter sogar bis zum eigentlichen Kauf.

Einordnung von Content Marketing in den Marketing-Zusammenhang

Engineering as Marketing im gesamten Marketing Funnel

Im gesamten Marketing Funnel sind die Aktivitäten, die Du mit Content Marketing durchführst, meist zwischen Top of the Funnel und dem mittleren Bereich anzusiedeln. Zudem werden auch am Bottom of the Funnel noch Inhalte platziert bzw. nach dem Kauf, um die Kundenreise nicht plötzlich abbrechen zu lassen.

Es geht hierbei mit Schwerpunkt um Maßnahmen, dass (potenzielle) Kunden zunächst auf Dich und Deine Lösungen aufmerksam werden und mehr von Dir erfahren wollen.

Sofort-Impact gegenüber Nachhaltigkeit

Content Marketing benötigt Zeit und hat beispielsweise im Vergleich zu Sales keinen starken Sofort-Impuls, der zum Kauf anregt.

Der Nachhall ist durch den Einfluss auf andere Kanäle wie beispielsweise SEO über die Zeit stark zunehmend, sobald Deine Inhalte an Aufmerksamkeit gewinnen.

Einordnung im Kanal-Portfolio

Wenn Du Dein Portfolio an Kanälen und Aktionen zusammenstellst, dann werden die Aktionen des Content Marketing typischerweise die Funktion haben, als Netze für potenzielle Kunden zu wirken.

Dieser Kanal wirkt also im Zusammenspiel mit den extrem gezielten Speeren und den einzupflanzenden Samen am Besten.

4 Häufig unterschätzte Tips und Hacks bei Content Marketing

Beantworte die Fragen Deiner Zielgruppe

Wie häufig suchst Du, was Deine Zielgruppe bei Suchmaschinen wie z.B. Google in einer bestimmten Situation und in Bezug zu Deinem Business eintippt? Welches Ereignis entsteht im Arbeits- oder Privatleben Deiner potenziellen Kunden, welcher Bedarf ergibt sich daraus, nach welchen Lösungen suchen Deine Kunden, um später auch auf Dein Angebot aufmerksam zu werden? Finde die Fragen heraus und beantworte sie mit Deinen Inhalten.

Verwende Deine Inhalte erneut

Jeden Tag brandneue Inhalte ist eine nahezu unmögliche Herausforderung, der Du dich mit entweder viel Aufwand in Zeit oder Geld stellen kannst, aber nicht musst. Es lohnt sich auch, die Inhalte, die Du bereits erstellt hast, regelmäßig unter die Lupe zu nehmen und zu prüfen, was daran wieder aktualisiert und neu vor die suchenden Augen Deiner Zielgruppe platziert werden kann.

Verschlanke Deinen Content Erschaffungs Prozess

Ein sehr guter Weg, um Deinen Prozess zum Erstellen neuer Inhalte immer effizienter zu gestalten, ist das Führen eines redaktionellen Kalenders. Plane Deinen Kalender im Voraus auf regelmäßiger Basis, beispielsweise quartalsweise oder halbjährlich. In regelmäßigen zeitlichen Abständen macht es Sinn, den Prozess auf den Prüfstand zu stellen, um Engstellen zu erkennen und diese auszumärzen.

Miss Deine Fortschritte

Das Messen Deiner Fortschritte und Ergebnisse Deiner Content Strategie zeigt Dir, wie gut die Inhalte wirken, die Du erschaffen hast. Wenn Deine Inhalte web-basiert sind, dann steht Dir als Rückgrat Deiner Tracking Möglichkeiten typischerweise ein Analytics Werkzeug zur Verfügung, das Du auch nutzen solltest. Überprüfe die maßgeblichen Kennzahlen, die sogenannten KPI's in regelmäßigen Abständen, um Deine Strategie anzupassen.

Auf diese Kennzahlen kommt es bei Content Marketing an

Monatliche Seitenaufrufe

Diese Kennzahl misst die Anzahl der Abrufe einer einzelnen Seite Deiner Website, beispielsweise Deines Engineering as Marketing Tools. Schaut sich Dein Besucher also zuerst die Home-Seite, dann die About Seite und zuletzt Dein gezieltes Content Element an, wird dies als 3 Seitenaufrufe gewertet, allerdings nur als 1 Sitzung.

Durchschnittliche Verweildauer

Die Verweildauer gibt Auskunft darüber, wie lange ein Besucher während des Besuchs beispielsweise auf der Seite Deines gezielt platzierten Contents bleibt, d. h. wie intensiv das Angebot der Website den Nutzer interessiert.

Bounce-Rate

Die Absprungrate, auf Englisch „Bounce Rate“, sagt prozentual aus, wieviele Deiner Website-Besucher eine Seite ohne Interaktion direkt wieder verlassen.

Anzahl der wiederkehrenden User

Die wiederkehrenden Nutzer geben Aufschluss darüber, wie relevant die Besucher Deinen Inhalt finden bzw. in wie weit sie die Erwartungen als zutreffend erachten.

Los geht's

Das Erstellen und Platzieren von Inhalten, das häufig vergessene Seeding, wirkt dann erfolgversprechend, wenn Dein Content die Fragen der suchenden Zielgruppe beantwortet und nicht ein reiner Verkaufstext ist. Content Marketing nahezu im gesamten Verlauf des Marketing Funnels vorzufinden, von der Aufmerksam zu Beginn, über das Schaffen von Verständnis bis hin zum Kauf und auch darüber hinaus.
Wenn Du aus den vielen Content Elementen noch eine stringente gesamte Story strickst, dann legst Du den Grundstein dafür, ein Netz auszuwerfen, mit dem Du potenzielle Kunden nachhaltig auf dich aufmerksam machst.

Und jetzt: Finde heraus, welche Fragen Du mit Inhalten beantworten solltest und teste verschiedene Medien dafür aus, denn es muss nicht immer "nur" ein Blog-Artikel sein.

Marketing und Vertrieb muss nicht laut sein

Interessiert an Neuigkeiten und Tools zum dezenten, aber wirkungsvollen Gewinnen, Begeistern und Binden von Kunden?


Hol Dir Call to Traction ins Postfach.

Damit erhältst Du spannende Insights und Updates aus den Vermarktungs-Kanälen.
André Wehr
André Wehr
Als Gründer und Unternehmer erlebe ich täglich, wie wichtig Traction und Kundenfokus ist. Dies macht den Unterschied zwischen einer ganz netten Idee und einem lebensfähigen Unternehmen.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

//]]>