fbpx
Unkonventionelle PR Traction
Unconventional PR
4. January 2019
marketing loud vs subtle
Why promotion marketing sometimes sells and why it often absolutely does not
20. January 2019
Show all
Engineering as Marketing traction

What is Engineering as Marketing and why is it important for my business?

Engineering as Marketing is all about this

When I’m saying Engineering as Marketing I imply the effective utilization of the engineering time (your time or the time of your team) for development of new useful tools such as calculators, checkers or check lists, widgets or for building new micro-websites, which would land your company in the demand area of your potential customers.
Providing your customers access to such tools builds trustworthy relationship between you and your potential customers, naturally enhancing your credibility image. So, he or she can make their first step towards your company without having to reach deep in their wallets.

Engineering as marketing facts and figures

  • According to Venture Harbour, a company which provides their potential customers something personalized, engaging and value-adding, for instance, by Lead Magnet Tools, can achieve 30 to 40% Conversion rate.
  • The colleagues of Business to Community have found out that about 90% of marketers believe that interactive content (like Engineering as Marketing) makes them stand out from the competition.

4 mistakes with Engineering as Marketing you should avoid

Your Call to Action is pretty vague

Don’t ask too much from your potential customers. Yet, anyway you should ask something the user of your marvelous tool. Call to action is essential, and the vendor who thinks their leads and visitors know better what to do next, are so wrong. Your prompts and instructions have to be clear and unambiguous.

Your contact forms are too long

One of the biggest mistakes many companies do is to ask website visitors and potential clients to fill in long contact forms, asking for a lot of information (name, position, e-mail, phone number, their company name and so on).
The contact forms that are time-consuming make your lose your potential buyers.

You overcomplicate the whole thing

Companies that use some tool or a freebie as Lead Magnet sometimes make their visitors go through a poor layout, confusing instructions or suggest choosing something from way too many alternatives. Place your tool that you offer always on the same page with as few distractions as possible.

The Quick Win is missing

Often we can see engineering marketing tools promise, for instance "87 steps to lose 5 kilos". What does a customer see? Well, he obviously sees a routine path with too many steps and a dubious result of no fast improvement. Why not trying to make the product promise wording sound more user-friendly? Like: "How to feel full longer, just in 5 minutes a day".

Engineering as marketing in the whole context of marketing

Engineering as Marketing in the entire Marketing Funnel

When we look at the whole marketing funnel, we can see that all the activities associated with engineering as marketing are placed between the top of the funnel and the middle area.

In this context the emphasis is laid on the measures that are designed to first of all draw the potential customer’s attention to solutions that your company offers encouraging them to learn more about you and your mission.

Immediate impact vs long-term effect

Engineering as Marketing requires time and, in comparison with sales, does not generate the immediate buying impulse.

The effect is expected to increase at the account if its influence on other channels, such as SEO as long as your tools really managed to catch attention.

Categorization in Channel Portfolio

When you are making up your Portfolio with channels and your array of activities, you can see that the measures associated with engineering as marketing as a rule performs a function of so called nets for your customers.

This channel produces its best result when complemented by spears aimed with precision and deeply planted seeds.

4 often underrated tips and hacks with engineering as marketing

Keep it short, simple and specific

A Lead Magnet as engineering as marketing tool must not comprise any complicated sales messages. It should be as simple, clear and specific to your particular target group as possible.

Use Social Proof

One of the most important and often overlooked tips is using of evidence from people, who are similar to your potential customers, but have started using your tool and they are super excited about it. People tend to trust to what other people have already tested and experienced and have something valuable to share. Just add a couple positive feedbacks and statements on the page, and you will see the boost in your conversion rates.

Evergreen Content

Evergreen-content is content that is always relevant - regardless when it was published. It means, that, no matter whether again another awesome product appears in US or Asia. When the tool you have created and granted access to is designed to be relevant longer than 2 weeks, it stays engaging and to the point, this is your confident step to a long-term effective content.

Remove too many

extra options

The more decisions a visitor on your website has to make, the less likely will they be converted to your actual customers. This is due to the fact that, decisions require decision making. If you want to enhance the lead generation using engineering as marketing tool, you should eliminate as many extra options from your website as possible. Don’t be misleading, be leading instead.

Engineering as marketing comes down to these key performance indicators (aka KPI)

Monthly number of views

This indicator measures the number of views on a chosen page of your website, for instance, the page with your engineering as marketing tools. So, your visitor first checks the home page, then moves to „about us“ page, and, finally, he sees your Lead Magnet Tool, so it is calculated as 3 page views, but it’s still one session.

Average Time on site

The time on site gives the idea of how much time a visitor spends on your website, for instance, on the page of your engineering marketing tools; in other words, it allows assessing how much an offer you placed on this page actually interests your potential client.

Bounce Rate

The Bounce rate shows the percentage of visitors of a particular website who navigate away from the site after viewing only one page.

Number of recurring users

The number of recurring users gives some understanding on how relevant your engineering as marketing offer seems to the website visitor and to what extent it can meet your users expectations.

Get going

Using tools, which already exist in your company, makes more sense and has high success chance if it is wellbuilt - in in the story, mission and vision of your company. Marketing as Engineering is placed in the top of the marketing funnel.
If your Lead Magnets are designed with incorporated quick win messages and not too many options for a customer to choose from, you can rest assured that you’re laying a foundation for an alluring and easy-to-use mechanism; in other words, you are throwing out the nets that helps you attract customers’ attention in the long run.

And now: Now poke in your hard drive and look around. It may already store something that can be valuable and interesting for your regular and potential clients that you can quickly use in your marketing purposes.

You want more Impulses on Engineering as Marketing?


Get Call to Traction into your Mailbox

This means regularly fresh infos, studies and trends about Customer Centricity, Marketing and Sales.
André Wehr
André Wehr
As a founder and entrepreneur, I experience every day how important Traction and Customer Centricity is. It makes the difference between a nice idea and a viable business.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

//]]>

Call to Traction Kontext Marketing
5 Schritte zu Kontext Marketing – Call to Traction
22. November 2017
Call to Traction Conversion Rate Optimization Hacks
46 Conversion Rate Optimization Hacks – Call to Traction
29. November 2017
Zeige alle
Engineering as Marketing traction

Engineering as Marketing traction

Was ist Engineering as Marketing und warum brauche ich es?

Darum geht es bei Engineering als Marketing

Bei Engineering as Marketing geht es darum, Deine Engineering-Zeit (bzw. die Deines Teams) dafür zu nutzen, nützliche Tools wie Rechner, Checker oder Checklisten, Widgets und auch Micro-Sites zu bauen, die Dein Unternehmen in das Bedarfsfeld potenzieller Kunden platzieren.
Das zur Verfügung stellen dieser Tools schafft Vertrauen wie auch Glaubwürdigkeit beim potenziellen Kunden. Sie oder er kann dadurch den ersten Schritt auf Dein Unternehmen zugehen, ohne dass er dafür bereits tief in die Geldbörse greifen muss.

Zahlen, Daten und Fakten zu Engineering as Marketing

  • Laut Venture Harbour kann ein Unternehmen, das seinen potenziellen Kunden etwas personalisiertes und wertschöpfendes zur Verfügung stellt, beispielsweise durch Lead Magnet Tools, eine rund 30 bis 40 Prozent Conversion Rate erreichen.
  • Die Kollegen von Business to Community haben herausgefunden, dass rund 90 Prozent an Marketern bestätigen, interaktiver Content, wie der von Engineering as Marketing Maßnahmen hebe sie von ihren Wettbewerbern ab.

4 Fehler, die Du bei Engineering as Marketing vermeiden solltest

Du setzt einen schwachen Call to Action ein

Bitte nicht um zu viel bei den potenziellen Kunden. Aber dennoch solltest Du den Nutzer Deines Tools nach etwas fragen. Der Call to Action ist essenziell, denn wer glaubt, dass seine Leads und Besucher selbst wissen, was sie als nächstes tun sollen, der irrt sich. So sollten die Anweisungen klar und eindeutig sein.

Deine Kontaktformulare sind zu lang

Der größte Fehler vieler Unternehmen besteht darin, Interessenten und Nutzer von Tools zu bitten, ein langes Anmeldeformular auszufüllen und zu viele Informationen einzuholen (Name, Position, E-Mail, Telefon- oder Handynummer, Firmenname und anderen Details usw.).
Formulare, die zu viele Informationen benötigen, verlieren am Ende potenzielle Kunden.

Du machst es zu kompliziert

Viele Unternehmen, die ein Tool oder ein Freebie als Lead Magnet nutzen, machen es ihren Interessenten durch schlechtes Layout, verwirrende Anweisungen oder zu vielen Alternativen schwer. Biete daher das Tool immer auf einer Seite mit so wenig anderen Ablenkungen wir möglich an.

Es fehlt der Quick Win

Häufig versprechen Engineering Marketing Tools beispielsweise "87 Schritte, um 5 Kilogramm abzunehmen". Das klingt für den Kunden nach jeder Menge Arbeit und verspricht keine schnellen Erfolge. Eine Formulierung, wenn sie denn auch als Produktversprechen gegeben werden kann, könnte daher besser lauten "In 5 Minuten zu einem nachhaltigen Sättigungsgefühl".

Einordnung von Engineering as Marketing in den Marketing-Zusammenhang

Engineering as Marketing im gesamten Marketing Funnel

Im gesamten Marketing Funnel sind die Aktivitäten, die Du mit Engineering as Marketing durchführst, zwischen Top of the Funnel und dem mittleren Bereich anzusiedeln.

Es geht hierbei mit Schwerpunkt um Maßnahmen, dass (potenzielle) Kunden zunächst auf Dich und Deine Lösungen aufmerksam werden und mehr von Dir erfahren wollen.

Sofort-Impact gegenüber Nachhaltigkeit

Engineering as Marketing benötigt Zeit und hat beispielsweise im Vergleich zu Sales keinen starken Sofort-Impuls, der zum Kauf anregt.

Der Nachhall ist durch den Einfluss auf andere Kanäle wie beispielsweise SEO über die Zeit stark zunehmend, sobald Deine Tools an Aufmerksamkeit gewinnen.

Einordnung im Kanal-Portfolio

Wenn Du Dein Portfolio an Kanälen und Aktionen zusammenstellst, dann werden die Aktionen des Engineering as Marketing typischerweise die Funktion haben, als Netze für potenzielle Kunden zu wirken.

Dieser Kanal wirkt also im Zusammenspiel mit den extrem gezielten Speeren und den einzupflanzenden Samen am Besten.

4 Häufig unterschätzte Tips und Hacks bei Engineering als Marketing

Keep it short, simple and specific

Ein Lead Magnet als Engineering as Marketing Tool muss kein kompliziertes Angebot sein. Es sollte so einfach und spezifisch auf Deine Zielgruppe zugeschnitten sein wie nur möglich.

Verwende Social Proof

Einer der wichtigsten und häufig unterschätzten Tips ist das Verwenden von Anzeichen, dass andere Menschen, ähnlich wie der potenzielle Kunde, bereits begeistert von dem Tool sind. Menschen vertrauen dem, was andere Menschen schon erlebt haben. Also, füge ganz einfach das ein oder andere Statement Deiner Testimonials hinzu und damit steigerst Du die Conversion extrem.

Evergreen Inhalte

Evergreen-Content ist ein Inhalt, der unabhängig davon, wann er veröffentlicht wurde, relevant bleibt. Das macht Dich unabhängig davon, ob gerade wieder mal ein neuer Trend aus Asien oder den USA zu uns schwappt. Wenn Dein Tool nicht nur für 2 Wochen aktuell ist, dann gehst Du bereits den ersten Schritt für nachhaltigen Content.

Beseitige zu viele Auswahlmöglichkeiten

Je mehr Entscheidungen eine Person auf Deiner Website treffen muss, desto unwahrscheinlicher wird sie zu einem wirklichen Kunden konvertieren. Dies liegt daran, dass Entscheidungen eine Entscheidungsfindung erfordern. Der Schlüssel zur Lead-Generierung durch Engineering as Marketing Tools besteht darin, so viele Optionen wie möglich auf Deiner Website zu eliminieren.

Auf diese Kennzahlen kommt es bei Engineering as Marketing an

Monatliche Seitenaufrufe

Diese Kennzahl misst die Anzahl der Abrufe einer einzelnen Seite Deiner Website, beispielsweise Deines Engineering as Marketing Tools. Schaut sich Dein Besucher also zuerst die Home-Seite, dann die About Seite und zuletzt das Lead Magnet Tool an, wird dies als 3 Seitenaufrufe gewertet, allerdings nur als 1 Sitzung.

Durchschnittliche Verweildauer

Die Verweildauer gibt Auskunft darüber, wie lange ein Besucher während des Besuchs beispielsweise auf der Seite Deines Engineering Marketing Tools bleibt, d. h. wie intensiv das Angebot der Website den Nutzer interessiert.

Bounce-Rate

Die Absprungrate, auf Englisch „Bounce Rate“, sagt prozentual aus, wieviele Deiner Website-Besucher eine Seite ohne Interaktion direkt wieder verlassen.

Anzahl der wiederkehrenden User

Die wiederkehrenden Nutzer geben Aufschluss darüber, wie relevant die Besucher Dein Engineering als Marketing Angebot finden bzw. in wie weit sie die Erwartungen als zutreffend erachten.

Los geht's

Das Nutzen von Tools, die in Deinem Business vielleicht schon vorhanden sind, wirkt dann erfolgversprechend, wenn es in Deine gesamte Story mit Mission und Vision passt. Im Marketing Funnel ist Marketing as Engineering im Bereich Top of the Funnel, also ganz zu Beginn anzusiedeln.
Wenn Du die Lead Magneten dann noch so gestaltest, dass sie einen Quick Win bieten und dem Nutzer nicht zu viele Möglichkeiten bieten, dann legst Du den Grundstein dafür, ein Netz auszuwerfen, mit dem Du potenzielle Kunden nachhaltig auf dich aufmerksam machst.

Und jetzt: Sieh dich doch einmal auf Deiner Festplatte um, ob da nicht bereits so ein für Deine Kunden wertvolles Schätzchen schlummert, das Du recht zeitnah einmal für Marketingzwecke vertesten kannst.

Marketing und Vertrieb muss nicht laut sein

Interessiert an Neuigkeiten und Tools zum dezenten, aber wirkungsvollen Gewinnen, Begeistern und Binden von Kunden?


Hol Dir Call to Traction ins Postfach.

Damit erhältst Du spannende Insights und Updates aus den Vermarktungs-Kanälen.
André Wehr
André Wehr
Als Gründer und Unternehmer erlebe ich täglich, wie wichtig Traction und Kundenfokus ist. Dies macht den Unterschied zwischen einer ganz netten Idee und einem lebensfähigen Unternehmen.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

//]]>