fbpx
Business Development Traction
Business Development – BizDev
17. November 2018
Search Engine Advertising Traction
Search Engine Advertising – SEA
18. November 2018
Show all

Pareto Principle applied to marketing – Why 80/20 should be in your head

 
20 percent of your activities will account for 80 percent of your results

Brian Tracy

 
You should have probably heard about Pareto’s principle. Do you understand what it’s all about? This principle is used under different names, for instance, the law of the vital few. Perhaps, the most recognizable is "80-20-rule" and “Pareto principle". Despite its simplicity the idea is far-reaching: 80% of effect is produced from 20% of its cause.
Exactly in marketing and sales the Pareto principle can be applied really vividly, hopefully, opening eyes to some people in the business who were going to get real busy.
Italian economist Vilfredo Pareto(1848-1923), in his research of 1906 came to a conclusion that 80% of the land in Italy was owned by the wealthy 20% of the population, which is namely 20% of all the people living in Italy by that time. Pareto was astonished by his findings; what appeared to be an even bigger surprise was that, after doing more research, he found out that the situation was similar in other countries.

The Pareto Principle in Marketing

Marketing strategist Perry Marshall has taken Pareto to its logical extreme. In his awesome book 80/20 Sales and Marketing he calls it the “explosive potential of 80/20”, and discusses how deep, how potent 80/20 really is.

Marshall has also approached the Pareto principle closer and saw its exponential nature: Let’s say that 20% of your customers are responsible for 80% of your sales. Now, let’s take those 20% and analyze what we’ve got. What you’ll discover is that 20% of that group (yes, 20 percent of 20 percent) is responsible for 80% of those sales. And then, if you take that 20 %, you can apply the Pareto principle again!

Writer Dave Lavinsky has explained that "The Pareto principle scales to the third power and fourth power, and so on, when the numbers are big enough." Marshall argues that it is infinite.

It leaves to see whether it is infinite or not. Whatsoever, Pareto principle provides some high-performance applications marketing. Here are a few things that you would love to know about:

80% of your revenues come from 20% of your customers

This is the most common observation of the Pareto principle. Good news is it’s easy to see if it is workable for your business or not. If you find that the biggest chunk of your revenues comes from around 20% of your buyers, then make sure you’re working hard to retain those customers and you are treating them nice.

 
 
Identify customers who have recently bought from you and spent a lot of money. Find out where those 20% come from, the traffic channels that they discovered, the ads on which they showed conversion and the content really made them engaged. Work on this content — optimize, improve and promote it.
Perform a demographic and psychographic study on your 20%. The better you get to know them, the better you can target them. Focus on your best clients and deliver the best you can.

80% of your online product sales come from 20% of your products

What products do you sell? If the Pareto principle is applicable to what you do, then you’ve got some hot sellers, responsible for around 80% of your sales. These are the products that you should work to enhance, promote and advertise. They’re hot sellers for a reason, so do make the most of them.

80% of your website visitors are brought to you by 20% of your keywords

Many companies dedicate a lot of time to develop some unique keywords, a keyword-forming strategy, which they can apply across their website. But here’s the surprising thing about keywords: In most cases, 80% of your traffic and visitors come from a mere 20% of your keywords. A few case studies show that the ratio is even more weighted than that.

80% of your content marketing leads comes from 20% of your content

You already know that content marketing is a one truly sustainable and far-reaching channel and it does earn its place in your portfolio. But do you know where your content marketing leads are coming from? If your experience is like mine, you’ll find that most of your leads and traffic are generated by mere 20% of your content assets. When we encourage our clients to analyze their content marketing resources, they often discover one evergreen piece of content that is forever attractive and relevant and continues to drive tons of traffic.

80% der social sharings are generated from 20% of your social updates

Try to analyze your Social Sharings. Where are all those likes, shares, and retweets coming from? They are probably coming from just 20% of your updates. For a better precision you can use a social analytics tracker, and find out the features that your high-performing social updates have in common and apply them to your other updates.

80% of your revenue come from 20% of your traction channels

If you take a look at your advertising channels, do a little research and compare them to one another, you’ll realize that the highest performance is generated from roughly 20% of them. Your best step here is to scrutinize these very channels and seek ways how to reinforce and expand them.

80% of customer complaints come from 20% of customers

Just as the most sales come from 20% of your customers, the most part of trouble comes from 20% of your customers. These are the customers who have your help desk on speed dial, or people you know by name. Unfortunately, among them you’ll find people who you wish you didn’t even have as customers.

Bottom Line

Bear in mind that the Pareto principle is not a law. It can be applied sometimes in some circumstances, but not always it is relevant. Yes, it can be extremely powerful. And that means the same kind of power that comes from finally realizing that your data is telling you a story and this story is actually workable.

Be reasonable and cautious when using it, but do use it. And you will see the beneficial effect on your business performance.

You want more Impulses to Pareto in Marketing?


Get Call to Traction into your Mailbox

This means regularly fresh infos, studies and trends about Customer Centricity, Marketing and Sales.
André Wehr
André Wehr
As a founder and entrepreneur, I experience every day how important Traction and Customer Centricity is. It makes the difference between a nice idea and a viable business.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

//]]>

Customer Insights – Kundenverhalten und was Du daraus machen kannst – Call to Traction
8. Februar 2018
Wie die Blockchain die Marketingwelt verändern kann – Call to Traction
7. März 2018
Zeige alle

Das Pareto Prinzip im Marketing – Warum Du 80/20 im Kopf haben solltest

 
20 percent of your activities will account for 80 percent of your results

Brian Tracy

 
Wahrscheinlich hast Du schon vom Pareto-Prinzip gehört. Aber verstehst du es? Das Prinzip ist unter verschiedenen Bezeichnungen im Umlauf. Am Bekanntesten sind die Bezeichnungen "80-20-Regel" und "Pareto-Prinzip". Die Idee ist einfach aber tiefgründig: 80 Prozent der Effekte stammen von 20 Prozent der Ursachen.
Gerade im Marketing und Vertrieb lässt sich Pareto's Prinzip sehr anschaulich einsetzen und öffnete schon manchem die Augen, der meinte sehr beschäftigt zu sein.

Der italienische Ökonom Vilfredo Pareto (1848-1923) hat bei seinen Recherchen entdeckt, dass der größte Teil seines Landes, etwa 80 Prozent, im Besitz einiger weniger mächtiger Menschen war. Nämlich rund 20 Prozent der Bevölkerung. Pareto war von diesem Befund überrascht; Zu seiner Verwunderung hat er dann zusätzlich entdeckt, dass sich dies in anderen Ländern ebenso verhielt.

Das Pareto-Prinzip im Marketing

Marketing-Stratege Perry Marshall hat Pareto zu seinem logischen Extrem gebracht. Er nennt es das "explosive Potenzial von 80/20" und diskutiert in seinem spannenden Buch 80/20 Sales and Marketing , wie tief und wie stark 80/20 tatsächlich ist.

Marshall hat auch das exponentielle Pareto-Prinzip exponentiell näher betrachtet: Nehmen wir an, dass 20 Prozent Deiner Kunden für 80 Prozent Deines Umsatzes verantwortlich sind. Nimm jetzt diese 20 Prozent und analysiere sie. Was Du entdecken wirst, ist, dass 20 Prozent dieser Gruppe (20 Prozent von 20 Prozent) für 80 Prozent dieser Verkäufe verantwortlich sind. Und wenn Du diese 20 Prozent nimmst, kannst Du das Pareto-Prinzip erneut anwenden.

Der Schriftsteller Dave Lavinsky erklärte, dass "das Pareto-Prinzip auf die dritte und vierte Potenz skaliert und so weiter, wenn die Zahlen groß genug sind". Marshall sagt, dass es unendlich ist.

Unendlich oder nicht, das Prinzip bietet einige leistungsstarke Anwendungen im Marketing. Hier sind einige Dinge, die Du wissen solltest:

80% Deiner Umsätze kommen von 20% Deiner Kunden

Dies ist die häufigste Beobachtung des Pareto-Prinzips. Zum Glück ist es ziemlich einfach herauszufinden, ob es für Dein Business gilt. Wenn Du feststellst, dass der Großteil Deiner Umsätze von etwa 20 Prozent Deiner Kunden stammt, stelle sicher, dass Du daran arbeitest, diese Kunden zu binden und gut zu behandeln. Darüber hinaus möchtest Du sicher mehr Kunden wie sie finden.

 
 
Identifiziere Kunden, die in letzter Zeit häufig gekauft und am meisten ausgegeben haben. Finde heraus, woher diese 20 % kommen - die Traction-Kanäle, die diese Kunden auf dich aufmerksam werden ließen, die Inhalte mit denen sie interagiert haben. Optimiere, verbessere und fördere Sie diesen Content.
Führe eine demographische und psychographische Studie zu Deinen 20 Prozent durch. Je besser Du sie kennen lernst, desto besser kannst Du sie ansprechen. Konzentriere dich auf Deine besten Kunden - das sind in der Regel nur rund 20 Prozent.

80% Prozent Deiner Online-Produktverkäufe stammen von 20% Ihrer Produkte oder Services

Welche Produkte oder Services verkaufst Du? Wenn das Pareto-Prinzip für Dein Unternehmen gilt, dann hast Du einige Top-Verkäufer, die für etwa 80 % deines Umsatzes verantwortlich sind. Dies sind die Produkte und Services, die Du verbessern, fördern, bewerben und pushen solltest. Sie sind die Top-Verkäufer aus einem bestimmten Grund, also mach das Beste aus ihnen.

80% Deiner Website-Besucher stammen aus 20 % Deiner Keywords

Viele Unternehmen verbringen viel Zeit damit, Keywords zu entwickeln, eine Keyword-Strategie zu bilden und diese Keywords auf ihrer Website anzuwenden. Aber das Erstaunliche an Keywords: In den meisten Fällen stammen 80 Prozent Ihrer Zugriffe und Besucher aus nur 20 Prozent Ihrer Keywords. Ich habe festgestellt, dass das Verhältnis in der Regel noch stärker gewichtet ist.

80% Prozent Deiner Content-Marketing-Leads stammen aus 20% Deiner Inhalte

Sicherlich weißt Du, dass Content Marketing als ein nachhaltiger Kanal in Deinem Portfolio Sinn macht. Aber weißt Du, woher Deine Content-Marketing-Leads kommen? Wenn Deine Erfahrung wie die von uns ist, wirst Du feststellen, dass die meisten Leads und Zugriffe nur aus 20 Prozent Deiner Content-Assets stammen. Wenn wir Kunden dazu animieren, ihre Content-Marketing-Ressourcen zu analysieren, entdecken sie normalerweise ein Stück Evergreen Content, das für viel Traffic sorgt.

80% der Social Sharings stammen aus 20% Deiner sozialen Updates

Schau Dir mal genauer Dein Social Sharing an. Woher kommen all diese Likes, Shares und Retweets? Sie stammen wahrscheinlich von nur 20 Prozent Deiner eigenen Updates. Suche mithilfe eines Social Analytics-Trackers nach den Funktionen, die Deine starken sozialen Updates gemeinsam haben, und wende sie auf die anderen Updates an.

80% Prozent des Umsatzes kommen von 20% Deiner Traction Channels

Wenn Du deine bestehenden Marketing Kanäle ansiehst, untersuchst und gegeneinander vergleichst, wirst Du erkennen, dass manche (rund 20 Prozent) die meist performenden Kanäle sind. Diese solltest Du genauer unter die Lupe nehmen und ausbauen.

80% der Kundenbeschwerden stammen von 20% der Kunden

So wie die meisten Verkäufe von 20 Prozent Deiner Kunden kommen, kommt der stärkste Pain bei Dir auch von 20 Prozent deiner Kunden. Das sind die Kunden, die deinen Helpdesk auf Kurzwahl haben, Du mit Namen kennst und von denen Du dir manchmal wünschst, Du hättest sie lieber nicht als Kunden.

Fazit

Das Pareto-Prinzip ist kein Gesetz. Manchmal kann es angewendet werden, vielleicht aber nicht immer. Es kann sehr mächtig sein. Und das bedeutet die gleiche Art von Macht, die entsteht, wenn Du endlich erkennst, dass Daten eine Geschichte erzählen und dass diese Geschichte umsetzbar ist.

Wende das Pareto-Prinzip mit Bedacht an. Aber wende es an. Es wird sich extrem positiv auf Deine Traktion auswirken.

Marketing und Vertrieb muss nicht laut sein

Interessiert an Neuigkeiten und Tools zum dezenten, aber wirkungsvollen Gewinnen, Begeistern und Binden von Kunden?


Hol Dir Call to Traction ins Postfach.

Damit erhältst Du spannende Insights und Updates aus den Vermarktungs-Kanälen.
André Wehr
André Wehr
Als Gründer und Unternehmer erlebe ich täglich, wie wichtig Traction ist. Sie macht den Unterschied zwischen einer ganz netten Idee und einem lebensfähigen Unternehmen.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

//]]>