fbpx
The Product Life Cycle shown with different Apple Products - tractionwise
Product Life Cycle – What every Marketer needs to know
17. February 2019
unit economics header - tractionwise
Unit economics – why you need to nail them for your business
19. February 2019
Show all

How you achieve Problem Solution Fit

Problem Solution Fitness
 
New products are inherently hard to launch because both the problem and solution are unknown.

Eric Ries

 
Before you set yourself on the quest of generating and testing the „right“ solutions for your customers it sounds like a great idea too, first of all, understand that very „right“ problem. Whether it is a business environment or end-consumer segment, — your customers do not wake up in the morning dreaming of having that awesome new gadget or a new super convenient service for cleaning their apartment.

Problem Solution Fit : What it's actually about

For startup founders and entrepreneurs, for large companies, multinationals, and even freelancers problem-solution-fit means the search or development of new original or unexpected solutions on a case-by-case basis with the primary purpose of being able to put themselves in the shoes of their customers and develop a better understanding of customers’ views and needs. When such a solution is found, and a company comes up with an approach that from various perspectives represents a game changer for customers we can say this is the case of a problem-solution-fit.
However, if companies skip the testing of the Problem-Solution Fit they came up with, they will risk landing in the situation where nobody wants their solution, which is rather sad given the amount of time and finance put in.

Your product comes later

IWhen we enter the stage of Problem-Solution-Fit assessment we do not engage in testing some specific product ideas, — it is yet too early for a product. It’s all about testing whether the kind of solution itself looks attractive. It's enough to describe the value proposition you came up within a few sentences without features and technical details. Keep it as simple as possible.

 
 
This simple diagram illustrates the way how Eric Ries, one of the founders of Lean Startup methodology, formulates the strategy for Problem-Solution-Fitness:
1. Do people actually have the problem that I assume they have?
2. How do they deal with their problem now?
3. Does my solution make a meaningful difference?

Forces of Progress

In their natural environment of the day-to-day life, consumers’ decisions and views are often predetermined by their character types, which to you, as a company and a marketer; seem rather obscure, because you can’t know what’s in their heads. Below you will find a clear picture illustrating the magic 4 Forces of Progress.

These forces for progress are the emotional forces that generate and shape the needs of consumers for a specific product. These forces can be used to better describe and understand the high demand from customers towards certain solutions with JTBD (Jobs to-be-done, tasks to be completed) or demand for some specific product.
There two groups of forces that work against each other while forming consumer demand. The first group is Push and Pull. These are any forces that stick together to generate demand. The other group is Habit and Anxiety. This is the combination that reduces demand. Your customer is in the middle, and your customer is experiencing this emotional mess.

 
 
Ash Maurya from LeanStack has managed to develop a wonderful working basis of Customer Forces Canvas in order to achieve structured progress in creating Problem-Solution Fit for her business. It suggests additional extended areas along with the Customer Forces which first exist only as assumptions, but in the process can be quickly substantiated through a series of problem-solution interviews.

 
 

Problem-Interviews

Interviews on how to deal with Jobs to-be-Done and the related challenges of finding the energy to go further can be effectively approached with the following structure.

 
 

Solution-Interviews

The interviews that allow adjusting the possible solutions to the harsh reality environment and the same time harvesting feedbacks may be used to build the following structure.

 
 
Customer Empathy Mapping is one extremely valuable method supporting the Problem-Solution-Fit. You can read more about how simple-to-use and awesome tool the Empathy Map is and how it works in our article “What customers want".

Now it's your turn

Your way to Problem-Solution-Fit is the process that is greatly influenced by your interaction and dialogue with your (potential) customers. You have already learned about some simple and effective tools that will help you on your journey.
If you and your team are curious to find out more about this topic you can contact us.

You want more Impulses to Problem Solution Fit?

shadow-ornament

Get Call to Traction into your Mailbox

This means regularly fresh infos, studies and trends about Customer Centricity, Marketing and Sales.

André Wehr
André Wehr
As a founder and entrepreneur, I experience every day how important Traction and Customer Centricity is. It makes the difference between a nice idea and a viable business.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

fbpx
Durch Customer Centricity die Digitalisierung meistern
9. Juli 2018
Verlernen um Neues zu Lernen – Die Wichtigkeit im Marketing
18. Juli 2018
Zeige alle
 
New products are inherently hard to launch because both the problem and solution are unknown.

Eric Ries

 
Bevor es an den Bau der "richtigen" Lösung für Deine Kunden geht, musst Du zunächst mal das "richtige" Problem verstehen. Kunden, egal ob im Business Umfeld oder im Endkunden-Segment, wachen morgens nicht auf und wünschen sich ein neues Gadget oder einen wunderbaren Service für z.B. die Reinigung Ihrer Wohnung.

Darum geht es bei Problem - Solution - Fit

Für Gründungsunternehmen, Startups, aber auch größere Unternehmen, Mittelständler und Konzerne geht es beim entwickeln neuer Lösungen zu allererst einmal darum, sich extrem gut in die Lage der Kunden versetzen zu können. Wird ein Problem aufgedeckt und findet das Unternehmen unter verschiedenen Ansätzen diejenige Lösung heraus, die für den Kunden einen wahrlichen Game-Changer bietet, dann spricht man von Problem-Solution-Fit. Verzichten Unternehmen auf die Prüfung des Problem-Solution Fit, dann besteht ein hohes Risiko, dass Lösungen geschaffen werden, die später niemand haben möchte.

Das Produkt kommt erst später

In der Phase der Problem-Solution-Fit Prüfung geht es (noch) nicht darum, ein konkretes Produktes zu testen – dafür ist es noch zu früh. Zunächst geht es nur darum, ob die Art der Lösung attraktiv erscheint oder nicht. Dafür reicht es aus, das geplantes Wertangebot in wenigen Sätzen beschrieben wird, und das am besten ohne Features oder technische Details. So einfach wie möglich.

 
 
Eric Ries, einer der Begründer der Lean Startup Methodik formuliert die Vorgehensweise hin zu einer Problem-Solution-Fitness wie oben gezeigt:
1. Haben Menschen überhaupt das Problem, das ich annehme?
2. Wie gehen sie das Problem heute an?
3. Liefert meine Lösung eine wirkliche Veränderung?

Fortschritts-Kräfte - die sogenannten Forces of Progress

Kunden sind in ihrem Alltag, ihrer natürlichen Umgebung und auch aufgrund ihrer Persönlichkeit Kräften ausgesetzt, die es Dir als Unternehmer oder Marketer häufig undurchsichtig erscheinen lassen, was gerade im Kopf des Kunden vorgeht. Ein recht anschauliches Bild davon zeigen die 4 Forces of Progress.

Diese Kräfte für Fortschritt sind die emotionalen Kräfte, welche den Bedarf der Kunden nach einem Produkt erzeugen und formen. Sie können verwendet werden, um eine hohe Nachfrage nach einer Lösung für die JTBD (die Jobs to be done, also die zu erledigenden Aufgaben) des Kunden oder die Nachfrage nach einem bestimmten Produkt zu beschreiben.
Zwei Gruppen von Kräften arbeiten gegeneinander, um den Kundenbedarf zu formen. Die erste Gruppe ist Push und Pull (Schieben und Ziehen). Dabei handelt es sich um diejenigen Kräfte, die zusammenarbeiten, um die Nachfrage zu generieren. Die andere Gruppe sind Habit und Anxiety (also Gewohnheit und Angst). Dies sind die Kräfte, die zusammenarbeiten, um die Nachfrage wieder zu reduzieren. In der Mitte hast du den Kunden, der all diese Emotionen gleichzeitig erlebt.

 
 
Eine wunderbare Arbeitsgrundlage, um beim Erarbeiten des Problem-Solution Fit strukturiert Fortschritte zu erreichen, hat Ash Maurya von LeanStack mit dem Customer Forces Canvas geschaffen. Dieser beinhaltet zusätzlich zu den Customer Forces ergänzende Bereiche, die zunächst als Annahmen existieren, aber dann auch sehr schnell mit Interviews zu Problem und Lösung untermauert werden können.

 
 

Problem-Interviews

Interviews, um den Jobs to be Done und damit zusammenhängenden Herausforderungen und Kräften auf den Grund zu gehen, lassen sich sehr gut mit folgender Struktur angehen.

 
 

Solution-Interviews

Interviews, um die mögliche Lösung der harten Realität auszusetzen und Feedback dafür einzusammeln, lassen sich hervorragend mit folgender Struktur durchführen.

 
 
Eine extrem wertvolle Methode, die den Problem-Solution-Fit unterstützt, ist das Customer Empathy Mapping. Wie du dabei vorgehst und welch einfach zu nutzendes Werkzeug die Empathy Map dabei ist, kannst Du in dem Beitrag "Was Kunden wollen" von uns lesen.

Jetzt kannst Du loslegen

Der Weg zum Problem-Solution-Fit ist ein Prozess, geprägt durch Gesprächen mit (potenziellen) Kunden. Einige nützliche Werkzeuge für diesen Weg hast Du bereits hier kennengelernt.
Hast Du mit Deinem Team Interesse, dieses Thema zu vertiefen? Dann sprich uns gerne an.

Mehr Impulse zu Problem Solution Fit gewünscht?


Hol Dir Call to Traction ins Postfach.

Das bedeutet regelmäßig frische Infos, Studies und Trends rund um Customer Centricity, Marketing und Sales.
André Wehr
André Wehr
Als Gründer und Unternehmer erlebe ich täglich, wie wichtig Traction und Kundenfokus ist. Dies macht den Unterschied zwischen einer ganz netten Idee und einem lebensfähigen Unternehmen.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

//]]>