fbpx
Call to Traction Top 3 disruptive Marketing Trends
Top 3 disruptive marketing trends for 2018 – 2019 – Call to Traction
4. April 2019
Mittelstand Disruption Chance
Disruption – the opportunity for SMB
14. April 2019
Show all

Product Market Fit – That’s how it works

Product Market Fit Bags
 
In the course of Customer Development , Product Market Fit becomes an enormously important step. After Problem-Solution Fit is settled, it is time to gain a true understanding of the market and get a concept and deliver a proper product that would be relevant to this very market you chose to work on. For most startups it is a vital question, however, it is an equally important issue for the established enterprises who intend to diversify and enter new markets with brand new product ideas.

 
Product/market fit means being in a good market with a product that can satisfy that market.

Marc Andreessen

 

What happens when product and market don’t fit

Your customers do not gain any particular value from your product, no word-of-mouth occurs to advertise your product from customer to customer, the customer base doesn’t grow as fast as you would like it to, the sales cycle lasts for too long, and many leads do not convert to actual buyers.

What happens as soon as your product just fits the market

Your clients buy your products as soon as it is off the conveyor belt because consumers do recognize the value your product brings. Journalists are constantly on the line because they have heard about your new product that enjoys crazy popularity and they stand in line to talk with you about your success. Sales cycle proves to be way shorter than you have expected.

5 steps to Product-Market Fit

1. Understand your target customers

First, you should segment your market so that later you could define your target customers with better precision. Establish a person or persons within the markets who is to become a decision-maker who can determine how your product will be bought. These might be influencers, so you might want to dive deeper and show your interest in this person. Customer Empathy Map can become your best tool in this quest, which will help you to locate the needs and action points of your target customers. Address those customer needs that are not yet satisfied so that you can create and offer the added value to your customers.

2. Define the Value Proposition

The value proposition is the core and the essence of your product strategy; it is a sort of a sketch of how much better your product satisfies customers needs than the currently available alternatives. Find out what unique features of your product inspire your customers and how your product outperforms the solutions currently available on the market.

3. Define the features of the minimum viable product

After you settled on the value proposition, a minimally executable offer, it is time to brainstorm and point out the functionality it’s going to obtain. This approach targets the creation of only necessary features, those that would be sufficient to generate value for your target customers. It is important to understand whether you are moving in the right direction with this product at all. The idea is to reiterate till you get the feasible product, which would be cool enough for your customers to snatch it from your hands.

4. Develop your minimum viable prototype

In order to test your ideas, you can use a prototype that would have the capacity to deliver a consumer that very desirable value proposition. Show the best version to your target customers, and do get feedback from them because it will help you to improve and adjust your product strategy accordingly. Your prototype should be neither expensive nor complex; the idea is actually in the opposite. It works with Post-It, Powerpoint, so deploy all the creativity you are capable of.

5. Test the minimum viable product with your customers

As soon as you have created the first prototype for the minimum viable product, be sure to seek feedbacks among the members of your target group. Don’t be shy to go for individual conversations, as a user test, with your potential customers.

 
 

So, get fit

In the last few years, agile and streamlined approach in the quest for Product-Market Fit has become increasingly important for the fast-growing companies.
How well are you aware of the market you are about to choose and the level of the fitness of your product? If you feel like you need Customer Development process support on your way, do not hesitate to contact us.

You want more Impulses to Product Market Fit?

shadow-ornament

Get Call to Traction into you Mailbox.

This means regularly fresh infos, studies and trends about Customer Centricity, Marketing and Sales.

André Wehr
André Wehr
As a founder and entrepreneur, I experience every day how important Traction and Customer Centricity is. It makes the difference between a nice idea and a viable business.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

fbpx
360 Grad Kundensicht
2. August 2018
Value Proposition – So gestalten Sie ein Wertangebot
6. August 2018
Zeige alle
 
Der Product Market Fit ist im Zuge des Customer Development ein enorm wichtiger Schritt. Nach dem Problem-Solution Fit zeitlich angesiedelt, geht es darum sowohl das Marktverständnis zu erlangen als auch ein für den Markt passendes Produkt zu liefern. Für Startups meist die Schicksalsfrage, für erwachsene Unternehmen ist dieser Schritt jedoch ebenso entscheidend, gerade bei einer Diversifizierung in neue Märkte mit neuen Produkten.

 
Product/market fit means being in a good market with a product that can satisfy that market.

Marc Andreesen

 

Was passiert, wenn Produkt und Markt nicht passen

Ihre Kunden erhalten keinen wirklichen Wert aus dem Produkt, es findet keine organische Weiterempfehlung statt, die Kundenbasis wächst nicht so schnell, der Verkaufszyklus dauert zu lange, und viele Leads werden nicht zu Kunden.

Was passiert, sobald Produkt und Markt einfach passen

Ihre Kunden kaufen das Produkt so schnell, wie Sie es herstellen können, weil Kunen einen wahren Wert aus dem Produkt erhalten. Reporter rufen an, weil sie von Ihrem heißen neuen Ding gehört haben und sie mit Ihnen darüber reden wollen. Verkaufszyklen dauern sehr viel kürzer als noch zuvor angenommen.

5 Schritte zum Product Market Fit

1. Zielkunden verstehen

Segmentieren Sie den Markt, um zunächst die Zielkunden klar zu definieren und sich fokussieren zu können. Ermitteln Sie innerhalb dieses Marktes, wer die menschlichen Entscheider sind, die den Kauf Ihres Produktes festlegen können. Tauchen Sie nun tiefer ein, zeigen Interesse an diesen Personen-Kreisen. Ein Werkzeug das Ihnen dabei hilft, ist die Customer Empathy Map. Finden Sie damit zu kurz gekommene Bedürfnisse und Blutdruckpunkte dieser Personen heraus. Adressieren Sie Kundenbedürfnisse, die nicht ausreichend erfüllt werden, um einen Mehrwert für Kunden zu schaffen.

2. Wertangebot (Value Proposition) definieren

Ein Wertangebot oder Wertversprechen ist die Essenz Ihrer Produktstrategie und skizziert einen Plan, wie ein Produkt die Kundenbedürfnisse besser erfüllt als bestehende Alternativen. Finden Sie heraus, welche einzigartigen Merkmale Ihres Produkts die Kunden begeistern und wie Ihr Produkt bestehende Lösungen übertreffen wird.

3. Features eines Minimum Viable Product definieren

Nachdem Sie Ihr Wertangebot definiert haben, legen Sie fest, welche Funktionalität Ihr MVP, das minimal lauffähige Produkt, enthalten soll. Dieser Ansatz zielt darauf ab, nur das zu schaffen, was erforderlich ist, um für Ihren Zielkunden genügend Wert zu schaffen, um zu bestätigen, dass Ihr Produkt in die richtige Richtung geht. Das Ziel dieses Vorgehens besteht darin, so lange zu iterieren, bis Sie über ein realisierbares Produkt verfügen, das Ihnen die Kunden quasi aus der Hand reißen.

4. Mimimum Viable Prototypen bauen

Um Ihre Idee testen zu können, nutzen Sie einen Prototypen, der das Wertangebot für Ihre Kunden liefert. Zeigen Sie potenziellen Zielkunden eine Version davon, um Feedback zu erhalten und weiter zu verbessern. Beispiele dafür müssen nicht aufwändig sein, ganz im Gegenteil. Dies funktioniert mit Post-It, Powerpoint und Kreativität.

5. Minimum Viable Product mit Kunden testen

Sobald Sie Ihren Prototyp für ein Minimum Viable Product erstellt haben, fragen Sie in ihrem Zielmarkt nach Feedback. Nutzen Sie dazu Einzelgespräche mit potenziellen Zielkunden als Nutzertest.

 
 

Auf zur Fitness

Das agile und schlanke Vorgehen zum Erreichen des Product Market Fit hat sich in den vergangenen Jahren bei den wachstumsstärksten Unternehmen als sehr wertvoll erwiesen.
Wie gut kennen Sie bereits Ihren Markt und die Fitness Ihres Produktes? Sollten Sie bei Ihren Customer Development Prozessen Unterstützung benötigen, sprechen Sie uns gerne an.

Mehr Impulse zu Product Market Fit gewünscht?


Hol Dir Call to Traction ins Postfach.

Das bedeutet regelmäßig frische Infos, Studies und Trends rund um Customer Centricity, Marketing und Sales.
André Wehr
André Wehr
Als Gründer und Unternehmer erlebe ich täglich, wie wichtig Traction und Kundenfokus ist. Dies macht den Unterschied zwischen einer ganz netten Idee und einem lebensfähigen Unternehmen.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

//]]>